SLSDC Announces Port Winners of 2017 Season ‘Pacesetter Award’

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation (SLSDC) today announced that six U.S. ports in the Great Lakes-St. Lawrence Seaway system are receiving the agency’s Robert J. Lewis Pacesetter Award for registering increases in international cargo tonnage shipped through their ports during the 2017 navigation season.

The six ports earning the Pacesetter Award for 2017 are: the Port of Chicago (Ill.), the Cleveland-Cuyahoga County Port Authority (Ohio), the Ports of Indiana-Burns Harbor (Ind.), the Port of Lorain (Ohio), the Port of Monroe (Mich.), and the Toledo-Lucas County Port Authority (Ohio).

“Congratulations to the six Great Lakes ports being recognized as Pacesetter Award recipients for their achievements during the 2017 navigation season,” said SLSDC’s Deputy Administrator Craig H. Middlebrook. “The Seaway System realized a 9 percent tonnage increase from 2016 to 2017, with a 25 percent increase in U.S. export cargoes. This strong performance reflects the commitment, hard work, and vision of the teams of professionals at these ports.”

The SLSDC Pacesetter Award was established in 1992 to recognize the achievements of U.S. ports whose activities resulted in increasing international tonnage shipped through the St. Lawrence Seaway, excluding Canada, in comparison to the previous year.  Over that time, the SLSDC has distributed more than 139 Pacesetter Awards to 14 different Great Lakes/Seaway ports.



SOURCE: Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation (SLSDC)