Port of Monroe Receives Fourth 2018 Seaway ‘Pacesetter Award’

Port of Monroe was honored with a 2018 navigation season Robert J. Lewis Pacesetter Award at the American Great

SLSDC’s Tom Lavigne presents Pacesetter Award to Port of Monroe’s Paul LaMarre III

Lakes Ports Association’s Summer Meeting. The Pacesetter Award — presented by the Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation (SLSDC), an agency of the U.S. Department of Transportation — recognizes Great Lakes ports that registered an increase in international cargo tonnage.

SLSDC’s Associate Administrator, Tom Lavigne, presented the award to Paul LaMarre, The Port of Monroe’s President and CEO. The Port was one of only eight recipients to be honored for the 2018 season.

The 2018 season saw the first use of Port of Monroe’s new state funded riverfront dock, which handled the first loads of steel coils and welcomed the liquid asphalt tanker, IVER BRIGHT, to the Port for her maiden seaway voyage, carrying over 4,000 metric tons of liquid asphalt for Suncore.

“The Port of Monroe had a strong international cargo presence during the 2018 Shipping Season,” says Paul C. LaMarre III, Director at Port of Monroe. “The Port of Monroe is pleased to receive the Pacesetter Award for our efforts.”